Anders Sandberg in Teleplace

Anders Sandberg on Neuroselves and exoselves: distributed cognition inside and outside brains, Teleplace, April 18

Anders Sandberg will give an online talk in Teleplace on Sunday, April 18:

Date and time: Sunday April 18 at 6pm continental EU (5pm UK, 9am PST, noon EST)

Title: Neuroselves and exoselves: distributed cognition inside and outside brains

Abstract: In the past the human mind was seen as atomic and clearly distinguished from the body and environment. As cognitive science has advanced this view has become increasingly untenable. The emerging view is instead that our minds are composed of networks of simpler parts. As we understand our brains better new possibilities for enhancing cognition biologically open up, but also intriguing possibilities to offload or copy our mental processes into external systems such as software. This talk will discuss the possibilities for distributed cognition inside our brains and computers and across society.

Lees verder